Saturday Night Live Adds Six Featured Players


“Saturday Night Live” has officially added 6 new cast members as featured players. NBC made the announcement today that Brooks Wheelan, Beck Bennett, Michael Patrick O’Brien, John Milhiser, Kyle Mooney and Noël Wells.

The new hires come after the long-running show lost some key players. My other (secret) boyfriend Jason Sudeikis (though I haven’t quite made him aware of it), Bill Hader, and Fred Armisen, left after the last season finished. Seth Meyers is also set to leave the show in early 2014 as he takes over hosting duties at Late Night. For the first half of the new season, Meyers will be joined at the “Weekend Update” desk byCecily Strong.

“Saturday Night Live” returns on  Saturday, Sept. 28 at 11:30/10:30 with host Tina Fey and musical guest Arcade Fire.

Throughout more than three decades on air, “Saturday Night Live” has received a number of awards, including 36 Primetime Emmy Awards, a Peabody Award, and three Writers Guild of America Awards. In 2000, it was inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame. It was ranked tenth in TV Guide‘s “50 Greatest TV Shows of All Time” list, and in 2007 it was listed as one of Time magazine’s “100 Best TV Shows of All-TIME.” As of 2012, it has received 156 Emmy nominations, the most in television history.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s